不要讓英語影響您發表研究的機會!

人文科學學術發表線上講座人文科學論文寫作中的風格、語調和意見表達

18 August 2021 | Asiaedit

講座內容

人文科學研究的核心是對人類經驗和文化的探索。因此,不可避免地,研究人員可能希望在表達他們自己的觀點的同時,仍可傳達一種學術公正的印象。這是一條很好的路線!

在這線上講座中,我們談及人文科學研究的最佳風格、語調和語域,並討論諸如語法第一人稱、以及如何和應不應該在文中使用幽默等主題。最後,我們會思考「客觀性」和「主觀性」之間的區別在當今日益跨學科的科研世界中是否真的很有份量。

講座全長約45 分鐘,最後的10分鐘預留予現場問答環節。

關於我們的主持:

Louise Woods

聯合總編、藝術與人文科學執行編輯

Louise 擁有英國劍橋大學耶穌學院頒授的雙一等榮譽文學學士/文學碩士學位,以及中世紀和文藝復興文學一等榮譽碩士學位,隨後她開始攻讀文藝復興時期悲劇戲劇和語法的博士研究課程。

在AsiaEdit擔任半職編輯期間,她為劍橋大學 15 多個學院提供了劍橋英語 Tripos 的本科教學、面試和考試評分。她於 2016 年至 2018 年被任命為劍橋大學紐納姆學院的資深委員。 2019 年,她全職加入 AsiaEdit 擔任藝術與人文科學的高級編輯,隨後升任為藝術與人文科學執行編輯。她於 2020 年 11 月被任命為AsiaEdit的聯合總編。

附註

分享
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Weibo

Don't let English affect your chances of getting published!

Arts & Humanities WebinarStyle, Tone And ‘Voice’ In Humanities Writing

18 August 2021 | Asiaedit

About the webinar

At the core of humanities research is an exploration of human experience and culture. Inevitably, therefore, researchers may wish to express their own “voice” while still conveying an impression of scholarly impartiality. This is a fine line to tread!

In this webinar, we consider the optimal style, tone and register for humanities research, addressing topics such as the grammatical first person and how humour should (and should not!) be used. Finally, we ask whether the distinction between “objectivity” and “subjectivity” really carries much weight in today’s ever more interdisciplinary world of research.

The webinar is about 45 minutes long. The final 10 minutes were set aside for live Q & A.

About our Host:

Louise Woods

Co-Chief Editor and Managing Editor, Arts & Humanities

Louise obtained a Double First-class BA(Hons)/MA in English and an MPhil in Medieval and Renaissance Literature (First-class Honours) from Jesus College, Cambridge, where she subsequently embarked on PhD studies on Renaissance tragic theatre and grammar.

While working on a freelance basis for AsiaEdit, she provided undergraduate teaching, interviewing and examination marking across the Cambridge English Tripos for 15+ colleges of the university. She was appointed Senior Member at Newnham College from 2016 to 2018. In 2019, she took up the full-time role of Senior Editor (Arts and Humanities) at AsiaEdit, followed by that of Managing Editor (Arts and Humanities). She was appointed Co-Chief Editor in November 2020.

NOTES

Share
Facebook Twitter YouTube linkedin Weibo